<u>RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS</u>

DATE OF HEARING	:	6 th and 8 th July 2011 at 11.00 hrs.
CASE NO.	:	43 of 2010
PETITIONER	:	MSEDCL
MATTER	:	Review petition in the matter of determination of Cross Subsidy Surcharge and for determination of additional surcharge on the charges of wheeling to be recovered from a consumer & / or person, who has been granted Open Access.
CORAM	:	Shri V.P. Raja, Chairman Shri Vijay L Sonavane, Member

A hearing was held on 6th July 2011 in the above matter in which all the Distribution Licensees presented their views on methodologies for calculation of Cross Subsidy Surcharge and thereafter the Commission provided an opportunity to all the Consumer Representatives and other stakeholders to present their views in the captioned subject matter. The Consumer Representatives who presented their views are Prayas (Energy Group), Thane Belapur Industries Association, Vidarbha Industries Association. Further, Shri Pratap Hogade, M/s Maharashtra Elektrosmelt, Chief Engineer (SLDC) have also presented their views.

Thereafter, the Commission informed all the parties concerned that Appeal Nos 4936 – 4941 of 2007 filed by APERC was pending before the Hon Supreme Court against the APTEL Judgement dated 5th July 2007. Furthermore the Commission informed that the issues pertaining to the Implementation of Open Access were discussed in the 24th Meeting of the Forum of Regulators (FOR) on the 16th June 2011, the details thereof are available in the website of the FOR. The hearing concluded in a lesser duration than expected and in view of the same the hearing which was supposed to be held on 7th July 2011 was cancelled. Thereafter the Commission felt it necessary to give an opportunity to all the concerned parties to study the aforesaid issues involved in the Appeal before the Hon. SC in addition to the issues discussed in the Meeting of the Forum of Regulators (FOR) held on the 16th June 2011,

since the issues raised were similar to the issues involved in the present case before the Commission and submit their views on the hearing to be held on 8th July 2011.

Scheduled a hearing was held on Friday 8th July 2011, in which the Commission provided opportunity to all the Distribution Licensees, Consumer Representatives & other stakeholders to present their views on the issues involved in the Appeal before the Hon. SC in addition to the issues discussed in the Meeting of the Forum of Regulators(FOR) on the 16th June 2011 and also informed that the appeals before the Hon. SC are listed on 12th July 2011 before the Registrar, Hon. Supreme Court. In response to which many of the Distribution Licensees & Other stakeholders requested more time to submit their views. Thereafter, the Commission directed all parties to make submissions in writing on affidavit, which should reach the Commission's Office within the next 10 days i.e. upto 18th July 2011. The Commission also distributed copies of the aforesaid APERC Appeal before the Hon. SC & the relevant extracts of the minutes of the meeting of the FOR along-with Annexure – IV to all the Distribution Licensees for the benefit of understanding the aforesaid issues.

Accordingly the next hearing is scheduled to be held on 26th July 2011 at 12.00 hrs.

х-----х

List of persons who participated in the hearing held on 6th & 8th July 2011 in Case No. 43 of 2010

Persons attended the hearing held on 6th July, 2011

- 1. Shri Ajoy Mehta, MD, MSEDCL
- 2. Shri M.S. Kele, SE (CP), MWEDCL
- 3. Shri S.V. Bapat, SE (TRC), MSEDCL
- 4. Shri D.H. Kulkarni, EE (CP) MSEDCL
- 5. Shri A,.J. Deshpande, ED (Com), MSEDCL
- 6. Shri R.G. Sonwane, SE, (Comm), MSEDCL

- 7. Shri R.S. Sangle, JE, MSEDCL
- 8. Shri Vivek Mishra, Reliance Infrastructure
- 9. Shri Prashant Joshi, Tata Power Co Ltd.
- 10. Shri Ashok Sethi, (VP), Tata Power Co Ltd
- 11. Shri Mukesh Shah, Suzlon energy
- 12. Adv,. Shri Ravi Prakash, Adv of MSEDCL
- 13. Shri P.. Karhade, Urja Prabodhan Kendra
- 14. Ms Ashwini Chitnis, Prayas (Energy Group)
- 15. Ms Ann Josey, Prayas Energy Group
- 16. Shri Pratap Hogade, Maharashtra Veej Grahak Sanghtana
- 17. Shri G.V. Patil, MVGS
- 18. Shri R.V. Athalye, Maharashtra Electrosmelt
- 19. Shri Abhijit Dhamdhare, IPPAI
- 20. Shri B.H. Gujrathi, SLDC
- 21. Shri P.B. Hote, SLDC
- 22. Shri Rahul Sinha, Adv for MSEDCL
- 23. Shri A.R. Bapat
- 24. Dr. Ashok Pendse, TBIA
- 25. Shri Mahesh InWEA
- 26. Shri K.N. Rajgopal, Chief Engineer, BEST
- 27. Shri S.D. Pawar, Dy Chief Engineer, BST
- 28. Shri M.M. Davare, BEST
- 29. Shri B.L. Ugale, AERC, BEST
- 30. Shri Kashyap Desai, Ushadev Power Holdings
- 31. Shri Sharad, Power Exchange India Ltd.
- 32. Shri Ankit Sharma, Power Exchange India Ltd.
- 33. Shri Sameer, Global
- 34. Shri Abhinav Sharma, TPC
- 35. Shri N. Ponrathnam, Vel Induction
- 36. Shri Aditya Bedekar, K. Raheja Corp.

- 37. Shri Gautam, TPC
- 38. Shri Pradeep Kumar, Suzlon
- 39. Shri Vaibhav Sinha
- 40. Shri S.K. Shivaraj Shivashri
- 41. Shri S.K. Parik, S.K. P.
- 42. Shri R.S. Bodalia, IPPAI
- 43. Shri Kiran ,Sakal
- 44. Shri R.R. Mehta, Reliance Infra
- 45. Shri P.S. Pandya, Reliance Infra
- 46. Shri Kapil Sharma, Reliance Infra
- 47. Shri Mikhail D IPPAI
- 48. Shri Banerjee, Reliance Infra
- 49. Shri S.P. Shinde, Bajaj Finserv
- 50. Shri Samarkant, Savita Oil Tec
- 51. Shri Laljio K Dwivedi, Pudumjee Paper
- 52. Shri A. Vijay, Reliance Infra
- 53. Shri R.B. Goenka, Vidarbha Industries Association
- 54. Shri N.K. Prakash, GEPL
- 55. Shri K.M. Vaidya, Deeaar Group
- 56. Shri Prashant ,IPPAI
- 57. Shri A,A. Alaspurkar, Advocate
- 58. Shri S.S. Shah, Cons, Engg
- 59. Shri T.N./ Agarwal, energy Audit
- 60. Shri Ravindra Manjarekar Maharashtra Times
- 61. Shri Chittranjan Tembhekar, Times of India'
- 62. Shri P Mehra, Newswise-18

Persons attended the hearing held on 8th July, 2011

- 1. Shri R.G. Sonwane, SE, MSEDCL
- 2. Shri D.H. Kulkarni, MSEDCL

- 3. Shri V.K. Kulkarni, Shree Datta SSK Ltd.
- 4. Shri Mukesh Shah, Suzlon energy Ltd.
- 5. Shri Ganesh Balasubramanian, Reliance Infrastructure
- 6. Shri Shivaraj, Shivashri
- 7. Shri A.D. Deo, STC
- 8. Shri Abhijit Dhamdhare, IPPAI
- 9. Shri N. Ponrathnam, Vel Induction
- 10. Shri Sameer
- 11. Shri Deepali Wankhede, Indo Rama
- 12. Shri Amey Naik, Tata Power Co Ltd.
- 13. Shri Abhinav Sharma, TPC
- 14. Shri Santosh Kumr Singh, Power Exchange India Ltd
- 15. Shri K.N. Rajgopal, CE, BEST
- 16. Shri P.V. Dhoble, BEST
- 17. Shri M.M. Davare, BEST
- 18. Shri B.L. Ugale, BEST
- 19. Shri M.S. Kele, SE, MSEDCL
- 20. Shri Vaibhav Sinha Re New Power
- 21. Shri Dayanand, Suzlon
- 22. Shri Avinesh, EIL
- 23. Shri P.V. Athalye, Maharashtra Electrosmelt Ltd
- 24. Shri Kiran Patil, Enercon India Ltd
- 25. Shri R.S. Bodalia, IPPAI